Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

Biting the bullet

Posted by MikeCooper on October 15, 2008

OK, today I started the process of putting my money where my mouth is. I can’t just go ahead and put my money there because BT need to do a site survey before telling me whether they’re prepared to install my line. Mo Dutta, vendor of AudioTX, tells me I require ISDN 2e “in a point-to-multipoint configuration”, so I’ve quoted this on my online enquiry form. I was pleased to learn that my online enquiry is important to BT and, as such, they hope to respond within 48 hours. Watch this space…

One bit of money I’ve managed to masticate on successfully today has been spent on some acoustic foam panels for my booth. Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve been recording in my walk-in wardrobe for the last year-and-a-half and no one’s noticed. I’m nestled away among the coats, shirts and sleeping bags, in the style of something from C S Lewis (cue jokes about coming out of the closet, etc. Thank you and goodnight!) and to help it out a bit I invested in a Reflexion Filter from SE Electronics.

This all sounded pretty fine to my ears, until about a month ago when I upped the ante on a mic preamp and stuck in a Focusrite Voicemaster Pro. This is either a) a much better preamp than the one I was using or b) has a much better headphone amp that reveals more of the background noise – or c) both of the above.

Either way, the combination of the new preamp and the cull of our out-of-season collection from aforesaid wardrobe has markedly altered the acoustics in there. So, it’s acoustic panels for me from now on to keep things on an even keel. All things being equal, they should be here by the weekend.

Leave a Reply

 
