Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

Progress!

Posted by MikeCooper on November 1, 2008

It’s been quite a week, and much has happened in the world of Mike Cooper, Voiceover Artist. On Monday I finally managed to get someone to place an order with BT for ISDN (three weeks for installation, though) and thus the push to get my studio ready for its arrival began in earnest.

I decided a while back that I would run ISDN via AudioTX (see my previous post), and AudioTX only runs on a PC, so my Mac laptop will be rejoining me as a laptop and will be replaced in the booth by a PC that’s as close to silent as it can be. This should arrive on Monday, fingers crossed, but the specific nature of what I wanted means I’ve somehow managed to end up sourcing all the bits separately – with computer, monitor, mounting arm for monitor, rack-mount keyboard and so on all coming from a variety of suppliers (the ISDN card is even coming from the Netherlands…) To top it all, I spent Thursday afternoon building a nice 6U 19″ rack to put it all in, which now has pride of place in the middle of the bedroom floor until the rest of the kit arrives. I’m praying to the God of Couriers and camping out at home all day Monday in the hopes that most of it turns up then.

And I’m not the only one getting kitted out for the winter: my good friend Trish Bertram (Grand Dame of LWT and ITV promos for most of the last quarter-century) has finally dipped her own toe in the water so that she too can begin to reap the rewards of working from home as a VO. Granted, it’s taken a year or so to coax her to this point – and it’s taken a fair amount of stroking and making of encouraging noises on my part – but I finally spent Friday afternoon connecting her brand new mic up to her shiny new preamp and mixer and playing with a fantastic bit of kit called The Mic Thing, which aims to make any reasonably quiet room into a half-decent recording space. I can report good things so far with regards to its sonic properties.

And Trish? Well, there was a certain amount of wailing and gnashing of teeth, mostly due to some of the stuff on the order form not being the stuff that actually turned up, but now the dust’s settled she seems happy enough. According to the last email I got from her she spent the evening recording duets with Barry Manilow. I think that’s a good thing, but can’t be too sure.

One Response to “Progress!”

  1. Trish said

    Ok – I admit it. I am a closet (but very new, due to being dragged to seeing him in concert in Las Vegas) Barry fan. …I never realised that having a home studio could be such karaoke fun!..Thanks for all your help Mike ..couldn’t have done it without you…T x

Leave a Reply

 
