Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

Serendipity

Posted by MikeCooper on December 11, 2008

serendipity |ˈsɛr(ə)nˈdɪpɪti|
noun
the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way 
a fortunate stroke of serendipity a series of small serendipities.

So there I was, this time yesterday, blogging about how the bottom had dropped out of my week. By two o’clock I’d resigned myself to an afternoon on the sofa under a TV blanket, watching an old black-and-white movie on Channel 4, and was trying to convince myself how blessed I was to have the kind of job where I get time at home to do such things. In search of some Me Time, I threw caution to the wind, switched my phone to “silent”, and snuggled up in front of the fire with a packet of digestives. Bliss…

Imagine my surprise then, when, at five o’clock I checked my phone and found another eLearning job had come in, from the exact same place that cancelled earlier in the week, and that it would be a bigger job than the one I lost. Way-hey!

Then, at ten past six, just as I was disappearing into the Underground to go and meet Jules and to have some dinner in town with a friend who’s leaving London (Mexican – the food, not the friend) an email dropped onto my iPhone from a fellow VO who’s been talking with me about some possible work recording audiobook summaries for a business college. They liked my demo and the first job for me is ready to record.

So far, so good, but they say things always come in threes, don’t they? I didn’t find the third thing until this morning, but it actually happened last night too.

I shouldn’t say too much, because it’s a big and ongoing project and there are others who need to be told first. But it’s been on the back-burner since the spring, and I’ve been checking in with the production company at intervals to make sure we’re still on each other’s radar. When it was quiet yesterday morning I dropped them a line. I got a reply to say they were hoping to get the thing up-and-running this week, but that (given the experience to date) they couldn’t be sure. Then last night I got an email to say it looks like the green light has finally been lit, and work should begin shortly.

Serendipity? Universal Law of Attraction? I don’t know, and I don’t very much care, to be honest, but it’s made me feel a whole lot better. And I now feel vindicated for having that second mojito with dinner.

Leave a Reply

 
