Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

New Year, New Mike

Posted by MikeCooper on January 3, 2009

For the first time, I’ve decided to put my New Year’s Resolutions online for everyone to see. There’s a certain body of evidence that suggests that we are more likely to follow through on our desired actions if we state them publicly; it’s something to do with wanting our actions to be seen to congruent with our words. So, a deep breath and here are mine. Some of these are voiceover-related, and some aren’t, but in for a penny and all that…

Business aims for 2009

  • Work out which of the online “Pay to Play” voice directories work for me, and which are a waste of time and money. Stop devoting time and money to the latter
  • Put together a new commercial demo (it’s been two years since I last recorded a demo, and most of my work in the interim has been TV programmes, corporates and training)
  • …book more commercials!
  • Remain optimistic in the face of a looming recession. Remember that certain businesses thrive in a recession, and focus on making mine one of them
  • Get better at using online social networking to increase awareness of who am I am and what I have to offer
  • Contribute – regularly – to the online Voiceover community, through the various forums and Twitter
  • Keep up the blog!

Personal aims for 2009

  • (Remind myself where it is, then…) Make the gym a twice/thrice-weekly habit, not an exception. Preferably first thing in the morning before the “distractions” begin
  • Cut down on “treats” (biscuits, pastries and the like)
  • Keep an eye on my wheat and gluten intake. I may be able to get away with it better than I used to, but in truth it still does me no good
  • Save more (some/any). An old chestnut, but worth another try.

I’ll probably add to this list as more ideas occur. In the meantime I’d love to hear yours – feel free to comment below, and a Happy New Year to you. Thanks for reading!

One Response to “New Year, New Mike”

  1. Phil said

    Some clever people working on behavioural economics have characterised this as a game between your future self and current self. Consider your current self saying ‘when I have done my homework, i can sit down and watch that film at 8pm’. Then, along comes 8pm, and your future self, clearly not having done any homework at all, sits and watches the film anyway. And there is absolutely nothing the past self can do about it. When you set yourself goals, rules or targets, it is often the case that you have no credible enforcement mechanism to ensure that you behave, since your past self can’t travel through time and give you a clip round the ear. So, we need some way of committing to these resolutions. How about this: Give me a load of your cash. If you (verifiably) go to the gym the specified number of times, you get your money back. If not, I keep it. And probably spend it all on cake.

Leave a Reply

 
