Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

Mike’s Week on the Mike (2-8 March)

Posted by MikeCooper on March 6, 2009

For a couple of weeks now I’ve been adding a little roundup of my week’s work to my Voiceover Site. It struck me that, regardless of all the wisdom on not cross-posting, it would probably be of interest here too. So, here goes, with Mike’s Week on the Mike…

What a busy week it’s been – and, gratifyingly, most of it from repeat business, which is always heartening! The National Geographic Channel, who I hadn’t worked with in almost a year, invited me back to voice two programmes for their “Megastructures” strand. The first of these goes out on Wednesday night, 12th March at 9pm, and the second a week later on the 19th (both will doubtless do plenty of repeat business of their own, if you’re interested in catching them).

This week also saw me spending three days working through my agent, The Voiceover Gallery, updating a whole load of materials I voiced last year for the ACCA, the Association of Certified Chartered Accountants, along with my colleague Dominica Warburton. Three days in a studio owned by the ex-bass player for Def Leppard. Rock on…

Met Film also invited me back for the second week in a row, this time to voice an internal video for John Lewis from my home studio. Aparently my voiceovers last week for the Sunday Times 100 Best Companies to Work For Awards went down well on the night. In addition, having worked together for the first time last summer, Function Films got me in to voice a corporate video for their client, Turbine Services Ltd.

So, apart from my regular gigs for the BBC World Service and Film24, nearly all of my work this week has been from people I’ve worked with before. They obviously think I’m doing something right and repeat business is, after all, the finest form of freelance flattery.

One new bit of business for a new client though was especially interesting: Atlanta-based All Voices International asked me to help out with a client of theirs in Los Angeles, who was looking for a replacement British voice for her documentary project on the life of the Polish actress, Helena Modjeska. A combination of Source-Connect and Skype meant that London could talk to LA, while Atlanta held court and recorded in the voice track. Not a phone patch or an ISDN line in site. Is this a sign of things to come?

2 Responses to “Mike’s Week on the Mike (2-8 March)”

  1. meCarin said

    Great blog! And Congrats on all your success!
    I’m a newbie to VO. I’ve gotten two local voice-over jobs recently without a demo (luck?). Can I ask you some advice?
    -meCarin

    • mikecooper said

      Thanks. Glad you’re enjoying it! And congratulations on the gigs!

      Ask away, and if I can help I will…

Leave a Reply

 
