Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

To renew, or not to renew?

Posted by MikeCooper on May 16, 2009

This week I received an email from Steven Lowell in Voice123 Customer Services, asking for my thoughts on their site as a premium subscriber. Here’s what I said:

Hi Steven,

No problem sharing my thoughts. I’m about to come up for renewal, as it happens.

I find the Voice123 system usable and reliable from a technical point of view, but the pages can be extremely slow to load (I have fast broadband and don’t experience these problems with other sites).

This year I’ve made my money back several times over, but I’m still not sure it’s worth me renewing, bearing in mind the inordinate amount of time I spent auditioning to get nothing back the vast majority of the time. I also get a lot of frustrating “You were ranked 1st – 31 other talents received the same rating” kind of responses or “Likely hiring” responses that then go… nowhere.

The system is now sending me higher budgeted jobs as a matter of course (and as it promised) though my experience to date means that replying to SmartCast invitations is now very low on my daily list of priorities, with the majority of my work coming from elsewhere.

So, to renew or not to renew. My jury’s currently out!

Thanks,

Mike

What are your own thoughts on this? I’d love to know what you’re thinking…

Leave a Reply

 
