Gobs on Sticks

Thoughts mostly (but not always) about the voice-over business, from London Voiceover Artist, Mike Cooper

  • About the author

    My name is Mike Cooper. I'm a full time Voiceover Artist living and working in London, and this is my blog. Find out more about me on my main website (there's a link further down this column), or if you'd like to hear some of my work, check out the files below.

twitwoop-de-doop!

Posted by MikeCooper on June 18, 2009

If you follow me on twitter, you may have stumbled across this message yesterday:

“We are happy to have voice artist Mike Cooper @LondonVoiceover as our official English voice on the @twitwoop voice service.”

So reads the tweet. But what does it actually mean?

Well, “twitwoop” is a spin-off from German Voice Application Service Provider, “woopla“.

Still no clearer?

OK, here goes. twitter, as you must surely know by now, is an online service allowing you to send short messages of 140 characters or less for other people to read. twitwoop takes the idea a little further:

“Let your followers hear what you are doing. At the ocean? What about some ocean breeze? Stuck in traffic? Let us hear some New York horns. Sing a song, tell us a joke or simply say something with a meaning. twitwoops can be 140 seconds long – that’s twitter style.”

twitwoop logo

twitwoop is a new service which allows you to post audio to your twitter timeline

The idea is that you register up to two phone numbers (typically your mobile and a landline) and give them access to your twitter account. When you dial in, the system recognises your number automatically and allows you to post audio. At this point there are numbers in London, New York and LA, as well as in Germany. You can choose to post to your own twitter timeline, or to twitwoop‘s own public timeline.

When I called in yesterday to try it out, I found it worked rather well, but it was apparent that the voice prompts had been recorded by a German speaker. Don’t get me wrong: Mark’s English voice prompts are far and away better than anything I could attempt, even in my best GCSE German, but there was still a noticeable accent there. So, I seized the opportunity and offered to make them some new ones!

A couple of hours and a bit of mutual back-scratching later (I recorded their voice prompts; they are now kind enough to promote me on their web pages and allow me to do likewise in the intro prompt) and I have become the English voice of twitwoop. It’s cost nobody anything for this to happen, but there’s a mutual benefit.

Sometimes a little deal like this is a great way to improve the reach of your voiceover business and get heard by more people (last time I looked they were up to over 1,000 followers). And, just as importantly, the whole thing’s quite a fun thing to be involved in.

Check it out at twitwoop.com, select your country from the drop-down list, then dial in and have a listen!

Leave a Reply

 
